At Birth: Just One of the Chosen

First girl born to a family of four, I had my days of being adorned. Chosen at birth to lead the way, fussing and fighting every day. In my mind i couldn’t understand how the chosen would be me. A sinner I am, I deserve nothing and just wanted to be. Headed to school, never really speaking to others, except to say “you’re welcome” to a “thank you” of a request to borrow a pen or pencil. Still, at that time, I was just one of the chosen brothers. Seeing things I’d dare not tell with terrible thoughts going through my head. Yet, I’m still just one of the chosen.  

Fighting hard to stay in school. Just to say I did it and got it in writing felt pretty cool. Hanging with the wrong crowd got me nowhere but in a fight against the law I could have avoided, I swear. Still, i’m just one of the chosen. Vowing to have children once I was married, took a wrong turn, yet still, I’m just one of the chosen. Devoted to being the best mom I could be, even when times came that this didn’t seem real to me. Chosen to lead you and guide you through love, unconditional, for the days to come; especially those days when you feel there is no light at the end. At birth, I was chosen just for you and whether you ever want to hear it or not, God has chosen you too :).

Image

One thought on “At Birth: Just One of the Chosen

Leave a Reply

